RSS

Slow Cooker Dependency

05 Feb

So we’ve only gone and bloody done it. Not content with central heating, dust free bedrooms and fully functional kitchens, The Boyfriend and I have bitten the bullet and moved out of our rented, cosy flat and into our half finished house. Don’t get me wrong, I love the house and once all the work has been done to it I truly believe it will look beautiful and be our dream home, but right now its a mess and our bedroom is the only room that is practically done. I’m a big girl though and can see the end result, so living in a dust pit will be worth it. There is only one mental hurdle that I have to overcome and that is that right now we have no cooker or hob. And probably won’t for a few more weeks. Yes, that’s right, no baking, no roasting, no grilling, and worst of all, no lasagna. It’s my very worst nightmares all rolled into one and realised. So what’s a cookbook dependent and baking obsessed girl to do? Well after the initial panic and fears of starvation I gradually came to my senses and remembered that I own a slow cooker, a George Foreman grill and a microwave. So you won’t be seeing Lenny Henry putting out an appeal for me on the upcoming Comic Relief night, don’t panic. All this means that I just have to be a bit more creative and resourceful with food and think up new ways of cooking my favourite meals. Last night I made a red Thai curry in the slow cooker instead of on the hob and it tasted absolutely perfect with slow cooked beef that just fell apart the minute I bit into it. I’m hoping my chilli tastes just as good out of the slow cooker as it does cooked in a saucepan, but only time will tell. Obviously a lot of foods are now impossible to cook, such as spaghetti, eggs and big joints of roasting meat, but this just means I have to try more new things and challenge myself to adapt recipes. I’m trying to see this situation as a positive despite not being able to bake. For example, instead of baking cakes and cookies, I can make mousses and chilled cheesecakes, neither of which require an oven. Pinterest has also been an absolute saviour, giving me tonnes of ideas and a possible recipe for slow cooker lasagna. There’s still hope for me yet. Obviously with all of the moving and decorating I’ve not had a lot of time to cook anything experimental or new from the cookbooks but I hope to rectify this in the coming weeks.

In other Neglected Cookbook news, I’ve joined Foodie Penpals which sounds amazing and right up my foodie street. What is Foodie Penpals? I’m so glad you asked! Basically, you sign up to Foodie Penpals (please click the button on the right of the page to go to it) and once a month you’re given the contact details of someone else who has signed up. You contact them and ask what sort of food stuff their into and you then send them a parcel of foodie goodies which they then blog about. Meanwhile, someone else has been allocated you and you tell them what you like and you then get a parcel in the post which you then blog about. I can’t think of anything that is more up my street than that. It should hopefully be a great way to try new foods, read new blogs and chat with like minded people. I’m very conscious of the fact that if you get me talking about food I could be there all day and that’s boring if you’re not as obsessed as me, so I try to reign it in a little, but Foodie Penpals seems like a great outlet for that, and suits my culinary geekiness to the ground. If you want to give it a go make sure you sign up to the right website as
there is a USA one and a European one. The links should all be on the Foodie Penpal button on the toolbar on the right of this blog.
I’m now thinking up ideas for the person I’m sending to, and can’t wait to see what I get sent. Hopefully I should be back soon with some tasty new meals and recipes to blog about.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2013 in Books, Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
