RSS

Lip Smacking Ribs

25 Nov

This Sunday has felt very much like I’ve been in an episode of Man vs Food. For those who haven’t seen Man vs Food, have you been living under a rock for the last few years? Get yourself in front of the telly and find it (it’s on practically every day), then be amazed as the presenter Adam Richman eats enormous amounts of food in food challenges across America and explores regional specialities in the many restaurants/diners he encounters. It’s totes amazing and if you love American food then prepare to love the show. Watching him attempt these challenges gives me a virtual heart attack but at the same time I can’t watch it without wanting to book the next flight across the pond. America no longer needs a tourist board, just Adam Richman. While I haven’t eaten copious amounts of food today, the food I have eaten has been distinctly American. First up, brunch. The Boyfriend and I got in this morning after staying out overnight for a friends birthday and while I was thoughtfully making the bed, he ate the last of the Crunchy Nut Clusters (best cereal ever by the way). Undeterred by the lack of cereal and the stale bread, I raided the cupboards and realised I had all the ingredients needed to rustle up some pancakes. Crunchy Nut who? Using the only pancake recipe anyone ever needs (from Nigellas HTBADG, naturally), adding some ground cinnamon for that extra reminder of holidays in Florida and some slices of banana to fool myself into thinking brunch was healthy, I felt quite smug looking down at The Boyfriends empty cereal bowl. While not quite as cinnamon-ey as I’d like, the bananas were sticky and caramelised, the pancakes fluffy and drowning in maple syrup. Not too shabby for a breakfast that came about from rummaging through the kitchen cupboards.

For dinner I took inspiration from the Jamie’s America cookbook which I highly recommend you buy. Unlike the lies and deception contained in the pages of his 30 Minute Meals book, this cookbook is much more realistic in its approach to food and is one of my favourite books to just flick through for the fun of it. Yep, I read cookbooks in just the same way I would a fiction book and I’m not ashamed! My only condition is that there’s a bit of waffle from the author, I like knowing where recipes come from, who or what inspired a dish and the like. Nigella is the Queen of this, but Jamie does a good job of telling the story behind a dish too. I made his 5 Star Pork Ribs, with a side dish also from the book called Best Baked Beans, and some homemade fries. It’s safe to say I was being a touch ambitious cooking all of this, and while easy to make everything individually, it took a lot of time, a lot of washing up and a lot of effort to do all of them together. Not that I’m one to give up easily when it comes to satisfying my hunger and greed, they’re motivators that never fail. For the ribs, I had to make a rub, a BBQ sauce, steam the ribs in the oven with apple juice then glaze them in the sauce, all while prepping the beans and making a crumbly topping for them. In short (or more accurately, long) the whole meal took 4 hours to make and needed constant babysitting. Not that I am one to complain because it totally paid off. After slow cooking at a low temperature and basting in glaze, the ribs were stunning. The meat came away from the bone with no effort whatsoever, and the glaze was sweet, sticky, spicy and utterly gorgeous, tasting a little like hoi sin sauce which is never a bad thing. Our cheeks and fingers were covered in the BBQ glaze, a sure sign of deliciousness and there were happy faces all round. The beans were a different story. Smoky from the chipotle chilli and with a crunchy topping made up of breadcrumbs, cheddar and streaky bacon, I really liked them but The Boyfriend was less than impressed. We’ve come to the conclusion that unless beans come in a blue Heinz tin, The Boyfriend ain’t interested, whereas chuck in some smoky heat and cheesy breadcrumbs and I’m interested. There’s no accounting for taste I guess! Looking back, I’ve had this cookbook a few years and whatever I’ve cooked from it has been a success. Favourites include meatballs stuffed with cheese, potato and mackerel latkes, peach ice cream, gumbo and chocolate tart. Regardless of your feelings on Jamie and his slightly irritating cheeky chappy persona, his food is always packed with flavour, easy to recreate and satisfying. You can’t say that about every celebrity chef, and as someone with one or two cookbooks, I feel perfectly entitled to say so. We’ll end today on The Boyfriends concise and simple review of dinner: “great ribs, shit beans”. Goodnight!

20121125-203659.jpg

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
