RSS

Another Day, Another Birthday Cake

13 Sep

Chocolate. Fudge. Cake. Are there three words in the English language that go together, flow together, as perfectly as those three? It’s a close call with Cheese. On. Toast, that’s a given, but for the sheer decadence the former brings to mind, it’s a winner. So when asked to bake a birthday cake for a colleagues sons seventh birthday, chocolate fudge cake is what instantly sprung to mind. After all, what child, or indeed person can resist this cake? I’d been itching to make this cake again and it’s fortunate for my thighs and arteries that I baked this for a specific event and not just on a whim one Sunday afternoon, as with this cake it really is very easy to talk yourself into having another slice. As you may remember from an earlier blog, the cake from Nigella Bites is a favourite of mine so this is the recipe I went with today. It’s the definitive chocolate fudge cake and I would never think of straying from this recipe, so neither should you! The recipe does contain some unusual items that you might not expect to find in a cake, like sour cream and corn oil, but go with it as they help keep the cake super moist. Put your faith in Nigella and you shan’t go wrong! It’s simple to make which is a worry if you have little self control and time on your hands like I do, but great if you just want a simple, delicious cake without putting too much effort in.
Nigella suggests in Bites that this glorious cake serves 10 or 1 with a broken heart. I can see all too clearly how true this could be. It’s been many a year since I’ve suffered from a broken heart (Robbie leaving Take That in the nineties- ’nuff said) but having had a terrible week and pining for The Boyfriend, the temptation to dive head first into this cake until I’m hallucinating on a sugar and cocoa serotonin high is overwhelming. Death by chocolate, but what a way to go! Still wanting to stay on this mortal coil though, I resisted, and while I may be selfish with a disdain for the general public, I’m not stooping as low as taking cake from a child. So taking the high road, I decorated it with chocolate buttons so as to remind myself who this cake was for. Great British Bake Off it’s presentation isn’t, but for me and my cackhandedness it’s a good start. The challenge now is to get it into the office tomorrow without it ending up all over the windscreen or having the buttons slide off. Maybe it’s time to invest in a proper cake box. The end result with this recipe is a moist, cocoa rich cake, sandwiched together with silky smooth chocolate buttercream and then smothered in it. The smell of it alone as you walk into the kitchen tells you it’s going to taste divine.

When I first made this cake, we’d just moved in together and given free rein in the kitchen I knew I had to make this. No reason, no occasion, I just wanted a big cake sat in the kitchen to say ‘this is home’, regardless of the fact that a big cake like that was too much for the two of us. I should have moved a stoned teenager in with us and then the problem would have been solved! Top tip that I discovered though when this cake started to lose its freshness – pop it in the microwave for a short blast and you’ll have a warm, moist cake that tastes even better than a cold fresh slice. Grab some squirty cream and you’ve got heaven on a plate. Reason enough to make this cake, heartbroken or not.

20120913-221718.jpg

20120913-221727.jpg

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 13, 2012 in Baking, Books, Chocolate, Cooking, Nigella Lawson

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Another Day, Another Birthday Cake

  1. mydearbakes

    September 14, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Gosh, this looks marvellous ! I’m so loving it! =D

     

Leave a Reply

 
