RSS

Spice up your life… or at least your salmon

22 Aug

So the healthy eating continues. Its been three days now and there’s been no let up in my attempt to eat more wisely and get back to exercising. You may think “three days, is that it?” but for me, three days of avoiding junk and snacks is an achievement. In case you failed to notice, I love food, and my favourite foods are the ones that do my arteries and muffin top no good. Friends keep telling me to leave the bad food, walk away before I get hurt, but like any toxic relationship, this ones tough to give up. Not that I’m seriously comparing my love of food to a bad relationship, because that would be crazy (right?), but things that are bad for us are the hardest to abstain from. Luckily for me though, I’m allowing myself some indulgence at the weekend, because total abstinence would drive me nuts, and harsh, punishing dieting programmes are hard to keep up and hey, you only live once. I read a great article by Jay Rayner in the Observer Food Monthly yesterday, where he observes that all his favourite foods (sausages,bacon, BBQ food) are likely to give him all sorts of cancers. However, food is his only vice and what is the point of prolonging your life to the age of 120 if you’ve been miserable and not enjoyed the foods that you salivate over? Now neither of us are saying go out and binge on processed meats and sticky ribs, but I frankly would feel that I’d wasted a large portion of my life if I constantly denied myself delicious food, and all I had to show for it was a few extra years in a care home. I don’t smoke, or drink heavily, I exercise regularly and I try to eat sensibly most of the time. Therefore, if I want to eat a huge curry or bake brownies then I bloody well will. I realise that this little rant has completely ruined the moral of todays blog which is ‘eat healthily guys!’, but life is too short. Enjoy yourself.

I really should get back to the food and away from the lecturing. Last night I cooked harissa salmon with couscous and vegatables from the same magazine I used for the fennel salad. (Delicious, August 2012). The magazine had a section devoted to 2012 recipes, eg, 20 recipes that took 12 minutes to cook. Nothing at all to do with the London 2012 Olympics but everyone else has been cashing in on The Games so why not food magazines? Unlike Mr Oliver and his ridiculous 30 minute expectations, this 12 minute dinner genuinely only took that amount of time and was fairly tasty. Nothing surprising about it really though, the salmon tasted like salmon but with a bit more kick from the harissa paste, which I believe is from the Middle East and widely available in the shops. Couscous tasted like lemon and coriander which is funny, because I added lemon and coriander to the mix. The recipe didnt call for any vegetables but I felt it needed to be a bit more nutritious, so while cooking the salmon I chucked in some red pepper and red onion with the fish. It was filling and healthy and had a nice spicy edge to it, which for a mid week dinner is a pretty good result. Expect me to fall off the wagon hard at the weekend though, I’m just itching to get baking. I also had another mini Amazon binge this week thanks to payday, so I’m currently awaiting the arrival of 3 books, all about French cooking or eating in Paris. The low fat French cookbook I had clearly wasn’t cutting the mustard, so I’m now waiting for The Little Paris Kitchen, French Brasserie, and Lunch in Paris. It’s safe to say I have been thoroughly inspired by my recent trip to Paris and am dying to try to cook some amazing French meals. Hurry up please postman!

20120822-201048.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2012 in Cooking, Fish, Food, French

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
