RSS

Dream on, dreamer

17 May

Trying to lose weight when your a bit of a foodie is officially a bloody nightmare. And when you’re supposed to be writing a blog about unusual and/or delicious foods, you come unstuck. All the things I want to cook from my poor neglected cookbooks contain pretty much all the things that need to be avoided: butter, cheese, cream, chocolate, saturated fat, cholesterol… Damn that saturated fat tastes good. So I’ve been very healthy this week cooking boring healthy foods and doing boring healthy exercise, and now all I can think about is the complete opposite. All I can say is bring on the weekend, when I don’t have to even pretend to be good. After 5 pm on a Friday, there are no rules. With all of the above in mind, and rather than boring you senseless with what I actually ate, here’s what I wish I could have eaten for dinner this week.

Monday: A gigantic slice of chocolate cake. If this wouldn’t make you excited to see Monday arrive, then you must be dead inside. That’s all.
Tuesday: Homemade burgers with loads of cheese and bacon. While any food that when squeezed oozes out grease can’t possibly be healthy, you know for sure that it’s going to taste good. Add melted cheese, crisp bacon and crunchy gherkins and you’re in heaven.
Wednesday: Lasagne. Oh how I love lasagne. What’s not to love- rich meaty tomato sauce, smooth, creamy, bland white sauce (bland is good!), silky sheets of pasta, and a lot of strong melted cheese, with the cheesy edges gone all crunchy. Lasagne and I should really get a room.
Thursday: Thai green curry. When done right, this is so good. But it’s full of calorie laden coconut milk so not diet food. If you’re going to eat it, do it right: either make it from scratch, paste and all, or go to a good Thai restaurant. Spice and flavour paradise!
Friday: Nandos piri piri chicken, followed by chocolate fudge cake and clotted cream. Oh wait, that is what I’m having tomorrow. Thank goodness!

Sorry if any of you working on your summer body now want to roll around in a vat of chocolate cake. Just hold out until the weekend!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2012 in Books, Chocolate, Cooking, Food, Puddings, Thai

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dream on, dreamer

  1. patriciavella

    May 17, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    I am so with you on the difficulty in being a foodie and trying to lose weight! I’ve been doing some recipes from one of Mary Berry’s books and as I get these lovely cakes out of the oven I can’t help wondering how she remains such a little slip of a thing. Fortunately I have teen boys to help eat all this cake and save me from my worst excesses 🙂

     
    • cookbookneglector

      May 20, 2012 at 3:22 pm

      I’m so jealous of those people who can eat what they want, I used to be one of them but my twenties have been unkind to my metabolism!

       

Leave a Reply

 
