RSS

Goan prawn curry with hard boiled egg – Everyday Indian

10 Feb

Friends have called me a food snob. Personally I don’t know what they mean, I just like to shop in Waitrose, eat at nice places and only buy cookbooks by either famous chefs or acclaimed food writers. So maybe I’m a bit of a food snob. But before you judge me you should also know that I love McDonalds and fairground doughnuts, so how much of a snob can I really be?! Anyway, the cookbook for todays recipe is not by a chef or acclaimed food writer, indeed has no author at all apparently judging by the front cover. It’s from Everyday Indian, a book I admittedly would never have bought myself in a million years. I always feel that if there is no one who wants to put a name to this book, what is it that they don’t want to take credit for? If you’re proud of something then you put your name on it. Plus, while I am  a huge fan of good Indian food, I have never been able to replicate a good Indian curry at home. It always tastes either of onions or tomatoes and the reaction it tends to get is ‘meh’. Doesn’t matter how many recipes I try, the curry will always end up being bland, too watery and nowhere near the deliciousness of a proper Indian curry, I just don’t have the skills. Anyway this book was given to me by someone as a stocking filler present, and it went onto the bookcase on Boxing Day and has remained there for over 2 years, until today.

So, would this cookbook be the one that gave me the recipe, nay, the secret to an amazing, authentic, tasty, spicy, complex flavoured curry? Well, no. Sadly it did not. I’d like to say I give up on cooking Indian at home, but unfortunately I have another Indian cookbook to cook from as well as two more from the authorless book to complete the challenge. Bummer. The curry was alright, it tasted a little bit like the spices (ground fennel, ground coriander, turmeric and chilli powder), the egg surprisingly went well with the curry (probably because the egg had more flavour than the sauce), and the prawns were nicely cooked. But there was really nothing there to make me want to cook it again, and a few hours after eating I’ve completely forgotten what it tastes like. The boyfriend commented that the nicest bit of the curry was the coriander sprinkled on top. It tells you something about a curry when the condiment / garnish tastes better than the curry (although we really do love coriander, I used to eat leaves by the fistful when I was first introduced to the herb!). Whether this is the books fault or is down to my incompetence as a curry cook, I cant really know. But because I’m a food snob, I’m going to place the blame with the non-author of this book. No name  = not proud.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Books, Cooking, Indian

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Goan prawn curry with hard boiled egg – Everyday Indian

  1. patriciavella

    February 15, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    Hi I thought I’d take a look at your blog since you kindly left a comment on mine. It would be interesting to see if we have any of the same books and compare.

    Anyway whilst I haven’t put in any entries on my Indian food cook books in my blog yet I have about three Madhur Jaffrey cookbooks and she is very good. Some have a huge long list of ingredients that can be very daunting and the recipes aren’t quick to make but are worthwhile. My Madhur Jaffrey books are quite old, some of her newer books may be less complex.

     
    • cookbookneglector

      February 15, 2012 at 7:42 pm

      Hi, thanks, I have been tempted to buy Madhur Jaffrey books in the past, perhaps will think about getting one soon as can’t go on not being able to cook one of my favourite cuisines!

       

Leave a Reply

 
