RSS

Chicken Casserole -Gordon Ramsay Makes It Easy

08 Feb

So today I decided to use a cookbook I truly have neglected. I bought this Gordon Ramsay book quite a few years ago when I first made the decision to learn how to cook, and have barely used it since. The only recipe I have cooked from it have been the chocolate fondants, which by the way, are stunning! If you like gooey rich chocolately goodness then that pudding is made for you, just dollop some chantily or clotted cream on top and you’re done!

Anyway, back to the casserole. When the weather is fricking freezing, a casserole is hard to beat so I was quite looking forward to this as the weather is, uh, fricking freezing. It was ridiculously easy to make, until I had to shred the chicken from the bone while it was still roasting hot. In Gordons defense, it does say to wait  until the chicken has cooled down, but I was hungry and that overrides all of my common sense! So if you cook this, heed his advice! The casserole itself smelled pretty good, but why wouldn’t it when it had leek, red onion, thyme, ginger, lemongrass and the like in it? Making the dumplings was messy but very easy, haven’t had dumplings for a long long time, possibly since moving out of my dads several years ago, so was nice to make some and wolf them down.

The verdict on the casserole was very mixed. I really enjoyed it, I felt it had plenty of flavour, chicken was nicely cooked and the dumplings were soft and had a subtle taste of coriander. However, for a Gordon Ramsay recipe, I expected more and thought it would be a lot more WOW than it was. For me, it was just a good chicken casserole, nothing more, nothing less. The boyfriend hated it. He has the most sensitive palette I have ever known, and can pick out ginger and lemongrass in an instant. You don’t even need to put a lot in, he can just sense it, like a shark detecting blood in the ocean. I can’t ever get those spices past him, no matter how hard I try! He’s even decided that he no longer likes thyme now, so thats another flavouring off the list.

I will eat nearly everything, although a few things are off limits. The boyfriend however, is extremely picky. Chorizo, forget it. Thyme, jog on. Cinnamon, in your dreams! And I bloody love cinnamon. Well they say opposites attract, so it must be true, after 8 years our differing taste buds haven’t driven us apart. Maybe one day his taste buds will develop into an adults, but I don’t hold out much hope!

PS: Oven still not fixed, leaving me stuck on hob or grill based recipes. Very frustrating as all I want to do is bake!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Books, Chicken, Cooking

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Chicken Casserole -Gordon Ramsay Makes It Easy

  1. Jon

    July 21, 2012 at 8:25 am

    so are you going to tell us how to make it? some instructions would be nice

     
  2. cookbookneglector

    July 21, 2012 at 8:34 am

    I’m not going to spend my time writing up other peoples recipes when they’re easily found in the books the chefs spent time and energy putting together Jon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
